Ellerslie Cricket Club

Batsman pulling away in stance

How far into a bowlers runup can a batsman pull away from his normal stance. i.e. what happens if the bowler reaches the crease, the batsman pulls out, the ball is still delivered and he is bowled, or out some other way? ...asks Gerry
The batsman can pull away any time during the bowlers run or sometimes even after the delivery provided he does so without attempting a shot. If he attempts a shot, he would be given out, regardless of the protest that he was not ready. If the batsman pulls away too late (e.g. a batsman could be scared of the ball then leave it and pretend that he pulled away) then, in such cases, it is upto the umpire to decide whether he pulled away fairly.
 

 

Club Manager

Corey Parr-Thomson

Mobile: 021 873150

Or click HERE to contact via website.